fruitage of the spirit's journal

Expressions from the Heart

Be Healthy – It Is God’s Will


Its official…2011 has come to a close and the New Year has made its way through. It’s amazing how fast times flies. Last year this time I posted my theme scripture for 2011 (Prov 27:11).  This year, my scripture theme involves a call for action on being physically healthy. The last couple of months I found myself obsessing about my physical health, namely exercise and proper eating, than anything else. My need for exercise and to eat right doesn’t stem from a desire to fit into a pair of skinny jeans, but a desire to be in obedience to God’s command to care for our bodies.  Despite my laziness and not putting forth the effort to care for myself, I know God commands this for a reason – because our body is God’s temple.  “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.”  ( 1Corth 6:19, 20) So says my theme scripture for 2012. But so much more than being God’s temple is involved when God commands us to good health; He commands this for our own benefit.

I suffer from chronic back pain. When I exercise regularly, my back pain is alleviated which results in better sleep at night and being productive during the day. I don’t have to tell you how invigorated we feel after a good night’s sleep – it can affect your entire day! When I’ve had restful sleep I’m more focused at work and have more energy to run after my toddler – I think I’m also nicer to people…ha.  Eating right promotes the same results. By “eating right”, this doesn’t mean I’m dieting; it means I’m eating healthy foods and making better choices as to what I put into my body. When I’m conscious of my eating habits, I’m good about my water, fiber and vitamins intake.  When combined with exercise, eating well helps me to attain my fitness goals. The third aspect of proper eating and exercise is the mental and emotional good that comes from a healthy, strong body. I tend to handle stress a whole lot better when I feel healthy. Knowing that I’m doing something that will benefit me for years to come also gives a sense of achievement and satisfaction – all are very positive and uplifting.

When I feel good physically, I feel good mentally and emotionally. Feeling run-down, tired or in constant pain is enough to send anyone hiding under a pillow for the day – believe me, I’ve done that a few times. But when I’m at my best, I’m more involved in the ministries God has called me to do, I’m more attentive to friends and family and I’m sensitive to God’s lead in my life. I can’t hear God when I’m shut down due to not feeling well. It’s one thing not to feel good because of cold symptoms or other temporary ailments, but it’s another to feel “unhealthy” for a prolonged period of time due to carelessness with our health.  I accomplish so much more when I feel (physically and mentally) well.

2011 was a very unhealthy year for me exercise and eating-wise. Every time I started an exercise program I would do well for a week or so and then something would happen in my life that would bring the routine to a complete stop and halt any progress. In addition to the setbacks, I was also concerned with completing everything on my “to-do” list than I was at taking better care of myself. The result of the past choices I’ve made is a fatigued, stressed-out physical body (that’s always in pain). I don’t want this for myself in 2012 and, according to His word, God doesn’t  either; I know He wants me to feel strong and healthy so that I can serve Him better too – this is why we’re commanded to glorify God with our (healthy) bodies. “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.” (Rom 12:1)

In scripture, when we’re commanded to do something, God supplies us with the resources to help us be obedient. Many people make diet and exercise their New Year’s resolution, but usually fail. They may start out determined, committed and enthusiastic about their resolution to lose weight, eat healthier or exercise but come out short at the end.  We must keep in mind that since it is God’s will for us to be healthy, He will provide the strength and help we need to see us through it. God’s help is ours for the asking. “Very truly I tell you, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and you joy will be complete.” (John 16:23-30) Its encouraging to know that we don’t have to do this on our own.

Along with the resolution to reach fitness and health goals, make it your resolution to pray first and you’ll succeed in everything God wills for you. Talk to God about what you would like to achieve with regards to your body and health. Share your goals with a trusted friend who will support you and make you accountable; perhaps you can hire a fitness trainer to help motivate and guide you.  If you cannot afford a gym membership or a personal trainer, your living room floor will do just fine. There are many effective exercise videos available on the market for a low cost; there are countless of exercise books and information on the internet. If you are like me and work full time, have a little one at home to care for and do not have the time for exercise, then pray about it and ask God to “make the time”. Start with 15 minutes and work your way to 30, then 45 and finally 60 minutes each day. Start out with two days a week and work your way to three, then four, etc…

My resolve for 2012 is to be obedient to God’s command to take better care of my body – it is His will for me and for you, too. I wish you a Happy and Healthy 2012!  Blessings, Linda.

January 1, 2012 - Posted by | According to Scripture, Expressions | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Excellent Blog, Linda! You are my inspiration :-) Love you

    Comment by Kirsten | January 3, 2012

  2. Linda, physical fitness has always been a popular topic for a new year, but you managed to bring it into the realm of our relationship with God and did a great job doing so. It’s tempting to put the mental and emotional above the physical, but I agree with you that they all work together because our physical forms are the very temples in which the Spirit of God resides. It’s always a good idea to clean house when royalty arrives huh? Some might counter with words from 1 Timothy 4:8 arguing that bodily exercise profits only a little, but godly devotion holds promise for this life and the life to come. My answer to that is oxygen masks. Flight attendants are trained to remind good-hearted fliers to put on their own oxygen masks before attempting to help their neighbor. Be healthy yourself first before you can help someone else. Therefore, it’s not selfish or vane to look after our own bodies as if it meant neglecting loftier spiritual goals, rather, it’s as you pointed out that “when we’re feeling our best, we’re more involved in ministries, attentive to friends and family and sensitive to God’s lead in our lives.” Thanks so much for covering this topic. And I want you to know I wrote this reply after my walk in the sun with my dog, something I have to do to keep well—even though it tears me away from my “loftier spiritual goals” of reading the Bible… by a warm fire…. on a cold January day…. with hot chocolate at my side. Keep yourself in God’s love, Julie

    Comment by Julie | January 4, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

