fruitage of the spirit's journal

Expressions from the Heart

Created In God’s Image


Genesis 1:26, 27 – “Then God said, ‘Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness…God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.”

 

“We were created in the image of God”. How many times have we heard this saying, but never really appreciated the significance of this truth? To be honest, I never really gave much thought to it until the day I found myself in wonderment of God’s precious qualities. At that time, my life was in turmoil and a dear friend did an act of kindness for me (one I will never forget). As a result of what she did for me, I beheld God’s grace and saving power. I was so moved by her thoughtfulness that I was falling in love with the Creator and Originator of life all over again! I felt God’s presence; His qualities were radiating through her. Have you ever been to a place so beautiful – a mountainous region, a still lake glowing from sunset beams or a running stream of clear water – and have glorified God for His beauty? Didn’t you fall in love all over again? Have you ever been around someone so loving, generous, caring – honorable and wholesome – that you can’t help but praise God for His goodness (and for that special person)? Those are God’s qualities being revealed through that friend! We are created in God’s image, which means we are capable of embodying His attributes. Col 3:10 “and have put on the new self who is being renewed to a true knowledge according to the image of the One who created him.”  Throughout scripture we read it is God’s plan that believers become more like Jesus. (Romans 8:29) “For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren.”  It’s no wonder that we share a special bond among our Christian brothers and sisters. We strive to display God’s qualities, which results in a special union with one another and brings praise to our Father in heaven – in whose image we were created.

April 23, 2009 - Posted by | Expressions | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments

  1. Linda,

    I’ve often read that we are to be “conformed to the image of Christ Jesus”, but never really got this clear of a picture of what that actually means until I read what you wrote and applied it to the times in my life where God has used me to share my faith with someone hurting or in need of Gods saving grace. And I now understand that when God uses us to share our faith with others we are in fact being “conformed to the image of Christ” HE is doing the conforming…not us! It is HIS work,,,not ours. Dare I say a gift of…GRACE? “Undeserved love”? And that grace is for both the person who needs to know God and His truths AND for the person that God has chosen to use to reveal it!
    He uses an empty but willing vessle much as He used Mary and Joseph for the birth of Jesus. Simple human beings so loved by God that He chose to bless them and the whole world at the same time. And yes, the blessing of Him using us to reach others or to share our faith or the truths that He alone has taught us, is an amazing gift that brings incredible joy. Remember what Elizabeth said to Mary when she first saw her with child….”Blessed are you among women and blessed is the fruit of your womb” Mary had done abolustely nothing….but to be an empty, willing, vessel for God to preform His work and deliver His gift of Grace to the whole world! She had found favour with the Lord and HE chose to work through her. May we each be ready and willing to be used of God to deliver His grace to those that He brings in to our lives! How sweet the joy of our Lord choosing to work through us!

    Sue

    Comment by Sue | April 30, 2009

    • Hi Sue,
      I wanted to share another song with you (you’ve probably heard it). The first time I heard this song was about a year ago. During that time I was taking a six-week class called the Holiness of God. It was an amazing course! I remember that day; I was driving Jesse to work and the song played. I remember telling him that if anything ever happened to me and I went to the Lord, that he play that song for me. I remember coming home and also telling Ben and Stephanie. They all thought I went mad! But that’s how I felt. Anyway, I hope you can open it.

      Comment by Linda | May 4, 2009

  2. Hi Sue,
    Thanks for posting such a thoughtful comment. I wish there was a way that the comments could appear automatically with the posts – I’m going to have to figure out a way to do that or perhaps change the template. I’m so happy that you enjoyed the journal on “Being Created in God’s Image”. I’m encouraged by comments such as yours, not to mention they also reveal different ideas that I didn’t think of – thank you!!

    I especially enjoyed how you brought out God uses us as vessels to accomplish his will. I was curious about the word vessel and looked up the definition. A vessel may refer to a boat or ship, container of liquid or containers for storage. In each definition, the “vessel” is holding something for a purpose and always starts out empty. Wow! That is so thought-provoking – God is using us as vessels! I love how you mentioned Mary and how she was used; Mary “had done nothing…but to be an empty, willing vessel”. That statement reminds me of the words to a song called “Empty Me”.

    Empty me of the selfishness inside
    and every vain ambition and poison of my pride,
    and every foolish thing my heart wants, too
    Empty me of me so that I’ll be filled with you!(I hope I got the words right)

    I love that song. If I can find it on youtube, I’ll post it on the journal. Thanks against for the comment and encouragement.

    In God’s love,
    Linda

    Comment by Linda | May 2, 2009

  3. I found the song…hopefully it works if you click on it. Bye again!

    Comment by Linda | May 2, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

