fruitage of the spirit's journal

Expressions from the Heart

Discerning God’s Will


Isaiah 29:13-16; 30:1-3, 15-16

dsc04284-1

The passages reviewed in class today centered doing the will of God, despite our circumstances. However, as it was brought out today, we can’t know God’s will until we know what it is to worship God. The people of Judah had substituted lip service and empty ritualism for true worship. The disregarded God as Creator and they felt they could handle all circumstances on their own. This is evident by the fact that the people of Judah looked to Egypt for help when they were coming against Assyria. They didn’t consider the God who initially brought them out of that very land! However, judgment would fall on them and they would be put to shame (Isa 30:3). It’s very sad that Judah didn’t acknowledge that their strength relied on “trust and quiet confidence” in the Lord (Isa 30:15). It’s important to know the true worship of God because there is a great disconnect between worship and discerning God’s will.

 

Discerning God’s will begins with true worship (by Sandy Maddox)

a) How would you define true worship? Praise and devotion: coming into God’s presence; acknowledging God as Creator of all things. (Please feel free to add more in your comments).

 

The 7 conditions of worship:

  1. Reverence – allows us to focus on the holiness of God (Isa 6:1)
  2. Relationship – to experience an intimate presence
  3. Repentance – a turning away form sin and turning to Him with a clean heart and willing spirit (Isa 6:5, 8)
  4. Responsibilty – to commit your life to serving Him (Isa 6:8)
  5. Resources – God will supply all of your needs according to His riches in glory. His provisions are abundant (Phil 4:19; Isa 58:11)
  6. Recognize Rebellion – anything less than complete submission, trust and obedience to the total will of God is rebellion (Isa 30:1,2)
  7. Reward – God will bless us with joy, peach, fulfillment, purpose and eternal life (Isa 30:15)

Personal Evaluation:

I seek God’s direction…

a) Daily, for every decision I make whether large or small

b) Sometimes, if I have time for a daily devotion with the Lord

c) Only for the really big, important decisions I have to make

d) I seldom give it any thought

 

This I know…

1)      I can discern the Lord’s will by worshiping Him in spirit and truth

2)      I can discern His will by acknowledging Him as my Creator and giving Him priority in my life

3)      I can know His will when I am obedient and ask for His guidance

4)      I can walk in His will when I patiently, consistently and confidently trust Him instead of choosing my own actions that “seem good for me”

 

We’re so thankful to Sandy for a great lesson she taught today. We look forward to hearing your comments. God bless you.

March 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

11 Comments

  1. Thank you, first of all, for thiis website. Now, when I go back to KY, I’ll be able to keep up with the studies.

    Sunday before last I had to miss WWP. I was driving back from Bonita Beach from a week with my sister.

    I had several worship and praise CD’s in and enjoyed worshiping God in my car. The words to the songs went to my heart and I definitely felt God’s presence as I praised Him with songs and prayer. There was much traffic on the road, but I just relaxed and let God be my pilot. It was a wonderful trip back to Orlando.

    I’ve been asking God about some decisions in my life, and I felt like God was calling me to live in Orlando. So, when I go back to KY. I will be putting my condo up for sale, and looking for a place down here.

    Thanks, Sandy, for another wonderful lesson. Thanks to Eileen for keeping in touch with us. Thanks to Linda for this journal.

    In Christ,
    Willie

    Comment by Willie | March 24, 2009

  2. Dearest Willie,
    It is actually YOU I have to be thankful for, because your encouragement is my drive for this journal. Thank You, Lord, for Willie! I am so blessed to know that the lessons on this journal is being used to glorify our Father. I’m so happy to hear you will be returning to Orlando. I can’t wait until come back and experience our first HUG! Until then, be blessed, keep in touch and know that I will be praying for your safe return. In all things, God is glorified. I love you. Linda

    Comment by Linda | March 24, 2009

    • Willie,

      I too echo Linda’s words. You have added so much to my life personally since we were “connected at the hip in Northern Ky” and “connected at the heart in Orlando”. It is so good to have you a part of Women with Purpose Life Group. Know we have selfish reasons for praying that you are able to sell your home quickly in Ky – we want you back here ASAP!

      See you Sunday.
      Love you much,

      Sandy

      Comment by Sandy Maddox | March 24, 2009

  3. Linda My Dear Sister in Christ,

    When I first checked out this website I couldn’t find the words to say to God about how blessed I felt to be surrounded by so many beautiful talented God fearing/loving women as yourself and others in our WWP Life Group. All I kept saying to him was WOW, WOW what a remarkable website Linda has set-up to honor you.

    I want to encourage you in your journal. I am sending the link to all my friends and family.

    When you stood up before the class on Sunday and said you weren’t comfortable speaking in front of others it reminded me of when I started in EE (Evangalism Explosion) I felt the same way. I prayed and that very evening when I opened my Bible there was his answer: Exodus 4: 10-12

    May God bless you, see you Sunday.

    Bev Stanton
    Another KY WWP member

    Comment by Beverly Stanton | March 25, 2009

    • Bev,

      What a thoughtful and encouraging note to Linda about this journal. I echo your observations 100 percent! I forsee this journal as being a source of encouragement, inspiration, as well as a Blble study resource for many women. Thank you for passing it along to our “Ky delegation” and others.

      Thank you my friend,

      Love you,

      Sandy

      Comment by Sandy Maddox | March 25, 2009

  4. Dearest Beverly, Thank you! Your encouragement infuses me with motivation to continue writing. My prayer for this journal is for spiritually minded women (and men) to meet for the purpose of encouraging one another; how wonderful to see this journal being read by so many. Its funny how I kept trying to hide behind the pink sheet (Sandy’s outline) in class and how I kept looking over at Sandy that she can finish what I wanted say (then to squirm back to my chair). LOL I love people and love sharing God’s truth, but as you can see, I’m more comfortable “behind the scenes”. Sandy has such a gift for teaching to an audience…I pray that some day I can teach before a class. Thanks again!

    Comment by Linda | March 25, 2009

    • Linda,

      You are just too much!! You have so many beautiful gifts – your ability with the written word brings the reader into the very presence of the Lord and that my dear sister is an awesome gift. Keep on doing what you are doing – you’ve only just begun.

      For Him Alone,

      Sandy

      Sandy

      Comment by Sandy Maddox | March 25, 2009

  5. Awwww shucks, Sandy! You just made me BLUSH!

    God is Good.

    Comment by Linda | March 25, 2009

  6. I just can’t help but add my two cents worth here and say how blessed I am to be in WWP and listen to each of you as you share from your heart! I really like to be in the background myself! It takes every bit of strength for me to do anything in front of a group, even though I know you won’t believe me! Sandy has helped me so much with that, by forcing me to be up front at times! (Thanks Sandy!)

    Linda, never did I dream when I sent you the first e-mail that you would bless my life and so many others in our class! Thanks so very much! I am just thrilled to have you in our class!

    I hope everyone will take advantage of this site, as well as join the group on Monday’s and Wednesday’s to pray! Pauline is an awesome prayer warrior, and it has definitely been my pleasure to get to know her! What a ministry!

    So much more I could say, but jsut wanted to let you know how grateful I am to each of you in the class.. without you we wouldn’t exist!

    Praise God from whom all blessings flow!
    In His Service, Eileen <

    Comment by Eileen | March 29, 2009

  7. Hi Eileen! I’m so happy and grateful that you sent me the email to visit the WWP lifegroup. It’s amazing how all of this got started with your email to me! Amazing! God is Amazing because at the time you emailed me, I was searching for a woman’s group I can attend. I didn’t even know how you got my email to invite me. By the way…how did you get my email?? LOL

    When I see you sitting in the back and taking care of all the admin “stuff”of the class, I can’t help but feel so much appreciation for you (and Beth). You put so much hard work into getting out the prayer requests/praises to each one of us and I know it’s a long list! Thank you for making my name tag! It’s the little things that show how much you care because with all the other things you have to take care of, you made the time to make my tag. I’m so happy we’re a part of such an wonderful group of women. I love you.

    In Christ Alone
    Linda

    Comment by Linda | March 29, 2009

    • Eileen and Linda,
      As I “look over your sholders” and at times “lean in and listen” to you and others who are a part of Women with Purpose, I just have to say thank you Lord – I stand in awe.
      I reflect back over the past 2 years since we organized as a class, I could only imagine a large gigsaw puzzle with a few (6) pieces on the table with no idea what a beautiful picture God was preparing to unveil over time.
      Even today, new pieces of the picture are added – my heart swells with thanksgiving and praise for all the ways He has woven our diversity into a sense of oneness – all because of Him.
      I appreciate you both, so different, yet so much the same. Thank you for sharing your beautiful gifts to reach others for Christ.
      I love you both,
      Sandy

      Comment by Sandy Maddox | March 30, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

