fruitage of the spirit's journal

Expressions from the Heart

…not our battle to fight.


I’m sorry I’ve been away for a few days. For those of you who were aware of my granddaughter, Cristina’s health issues, she was admitted back to the hospital early Saturday, but was released the Sunday evening. Apparently she still had remaining pneumonia that triggered the respiratory distress, but at least it was no where near as bad as the first time. To make matters worse, I came home from the hospital with a family crisis that had literally put me “over the edge”. Friday, I was preparing to write my next journal (based on 2Chron:20) and then havoc broke loose in my home. Needless to say, I didn’t complete the journal, instead I changed the message. The initial idea was to encourage someone who is facing a terrible giant at the moment – now, I am writing to reinforce my faith and help me get through this “battle”. It is my prayer that this message will also fortify you.

 

There’s a song I know that every time I hear it, it brings me to my knees with tearful praise and worship to my God and King! I’m sure most of you have heard it… I featured it below for your viewing…the words are absolutely moving! I’ve decided this will be my anthem as I go through this storm.

 

2 Chronicles 20 – Picture the scene:  King Jehoshaphat was king of Judah. He had ruled God’s people in a greater spiritual order since King Solomon. The Moabites and Ammonites (Lot’s offspring) were trying to dethrone Jehoshaphat. Report got to the king that the enemies were approaching by sea. The sea they were referring to was the Dead Sea, which was a common route for enemies because they couldn’t be seen from the other side into Judean territory. Verse 3 tell us, “Jehoshaphat was afraid and turned his attention to seek the LORD, and proclaimed a fast throughout all Judah”. Everyone fasted, included the children.

 

Although Jehoshaphat was afraid, he knew God would deliver him from enemy hands. He had unwavering faith and it too conveyed though the people of Judah. The king prays a beautiful prayer in verses 5-12. He first acknowledges God’s saving power, his Lordship and His character as a promise keeper – before he asks for deliverance! I love how he gathers his people and tells them in verses 15-17, “Do not be dismayed…for the battle is not yours, but God’s…You will not need to fight in this battle…stand and see the salvation of the LORD. As the people went out before the army, they sang songs to God and praises. Verse 22 tell us that when the people began singing, God set up an ambush for the enemies to destroy each other completely. God’s people didn’t have to lift a finger; God was not kidding when He said his people didn’t need to fight.

 

Today, so many of us are facing our own battles. But are we facing them without God? Are we asking God to fight the battle for us? He will! These battles aren’t even for us to fight…he will fight them for us. Whether it’s a spiritual conflict, family struggle, financial war or any fight we are going through…we don’t needto fight it. If we are fighting these wars, its because we want to and not because we have no other choice. If we are fighting without God’s help; we will lose to the hands of our enemy! We must come to the battle field with song and praise to our Almighty God – He is El Shaddai! He will create the ambush, not us. Will you join me in song?? God bless.

March 17, 2009 - Posted by | Expressions

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

