fruitage of the spirit's journal

Expressions from the Heart

Broken No More…


42-16586493Time and again I praise God for the people He puts in my path; I’m especially thankful for my friend, Tanya. I received a testimony from her and, with her permission, have posted it for everyone to read. Tanya and I have many things in common, other than the fact that we are ex-Jehovah’s Witnesses. Thank you, Tanya for sharing your testimony with us. We are encouraged by your unwavering faith in Christ our Lord.

 

“I was born July 17,1973.I was born into the Jehovah’s Witness religion.Therefore I was called what every JW baby was called back then,a bbt (baby bible thumper).I am the youngest of 4 bbts.So I had a lot to live up to as a Jehovah’s Witness.We were the cream of the crop Witnesses or so everyone thought.What a lot of people didn’t realize was that both of my parents are alcoholics,and that there was a lot of abuse going on.I went through mental,physical,emotional and sexual abuse.The elders knew but did nothing.They were more worried abut the organization,than the abuse.They were always like that,worry about # 1.So the only way I was able to cope was through Drugs and Alcohol.I was always high or drunk or both.I figured hey my mom use to put beer in my bottle so why not? Right? Wrong!! Instead of dealing with things the right way.I made every wrong choice out there.

Instead of turning to God,I turned to alcohol.Instead of turning to Christ,I turned to drugs.Of course I knew very little about Christ and I hated God.Well at the time I thought maybe there was no God,and if there was, I wanted nothing to do with him.I figured if he was that mean and vengeful,I didn’t want nothing to do with him.He’s all powerful right?God can do anything right?So where was God whenI was being beaten with a belt buckle or being molested?Why didn’t he save me?Why was he an absentee God?Little did I know that God was always there,always present in my life.When I was sad,he was sad,when I hurt,he hurt.When I was angry he put his loving arms around me to comfort me.He talked to me,but I was told that I was possesed by demons.

I never really believed I was in the truth.Things just didn’t make sense to me.Things always felt wrong.I considered the JWS hypocrites,and I knew I was the biggest hypocrite of all.I would go door to door and preach about paridise on earth,but never believed it.I wouldpreach how good Jehovah was and never believed it.I was a Jehovah’s Witness for 34 yrs.,but one night I felt like God was leading me away from the Witness religion and to one that I could truly come to an accurate knowledge of him and Christ.So one night I sat down and prayed for God to give me the words to write,and than I had to pray again for him to make me write my letter of disassociation.It was one week after that,they announced to the congregation that I know longer wanted to be associated with the Jehovah’s Witness Organization.So of course my family and freinds cannot talk with me or even sit down and have a meal with me.Everything finally exploded to the point that,I was called a Satan Worshiper,that I had turned my back on Jehovah and the Organization.My Brother Threatened my life.I truly felt I had no where to go.So I went to church.It was the best decission I have ever made.God has truly put some beautiful people in my path.I was baptized on March 8,2009.A decison I will never regret.God has truly blessed me and started to mold me into the person he created me to be.So now my will is to help people just like me.Broken and no where to go.” – Tanya H., Texas

March 11, 2009 - Posted by | Expressions | , , , , ,

4 Comments

  1. Hi Tanya,

    What an inspiration you are and will be to so many yet to come behind you. It takes a lot of courage to take the steps to Christ that you have taken. You are right, that is a decision you will never regret. He is your strength and shield, your protector and your eternal hope.

    I just want to encourage you to do 3 important things – get into scripture, become involved in a good Bible believing church and surround yourself with Christian friends who will help you grow in your faith relationship with Christ.

    Now, you go girlfriend!!! :)

    In Christ Alone,

    Sandy Maddox

    Comment by Sandy Maddox | March 11, 2009

  2. Thanks Sandy,
    I just pray my story helps people to become just like me.Broken no more.

    Love in Christ,
    Tanya H

    Comment by Tanya | March 12, 2009

  3. Tanya my heart aches that you have undergone
    so great amount of suffering but at the same time
    I rejoice that you are in the Lord and HIS great
    peace will heal your hurts.
    Carrying the love of Christ…PRESS ON!
    Praise be to God that you are able to share a part
    of your life with us. That we can lift you up to
    the Lord in prayer.

    Comment by marcene | March 14, 2009

  4. Marcene thank you for praying for me.Please continue to pray for me.

    Tanya H

    Comment by therrera9 | March 16, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

